Don't just race to compete. . . race to achieved eternal life. .

My Birthday Run

How to celebrate a birthday! =)

Last year (2010), I celebrated my birthday by running 21k (2nd) at Rexona Run. On that event I achieved a PR from 2hrs 16 mins down to 1hr 45mins. As a celebrant, He gave me an extra boost/strength to finish the course injury free. Oh well, that was my last year celebration.

Pre-Birthday Run (Milo Marathon)

July 31, I woke up early to join at 35th Milo marathon, thanks to Mr. Natz for the bib, get well soon bro. I ran for his bib, a 42km distance. Using his bib I decided to pace ultra runner Alex Jonesy Jones. I arrived 20 minutes before the gunstart. Alex arrived but we’re late about 10 minutes after the gunstart. A wet and cold run due to non-stop rain and wind. But honestly, I loved the weather and good for breaking a PR but I know my role =). Aside on having a good weather, overflowing water and powerade plus unlimited bananas that serves as my breakfast. After reaching the turning point at Lawton avenue, I thought he can set a PR cutting less than an hour compare to his Condura’s record. But he already suffering pain (according to him) and he want me to finished the race ahead. From kilometer 30, he almost giving up but I forced him to jog and walk from point to point, slowly and never missed hydration area for sponge and hydration. I checked my watch from time to time, minute by minute, computing if we’re gonna make it before the given cut-off.  I always reminded him not to give up and think for the rewards after finishing the race. Last 3km, I’m already worried that we’re not going make it on time and thinking to grant his wish to left him and finish the race alone. But I insist to pace him until we saw the finish line, so last 100m or less I told him I’m going to sprint and wait him to finish area. At last we did it clocking 5:44:xx and 5:45:XX respectively. Sorry bro, I left you behind, hahaha. But he still set a new PR. A good experience at Milo while pacing Alex Jones. From this event I’ve learned something, I’m excited for my next marathon and hoping to set my PR (a sub-4).  A good warm up and comeback run since my last official run last June 5, Mens Health All terrain held at Nuvali Laguna. Oh, Congrats for me for running a marathon using my VFF Komodo. Even though  my feet was wet from start to finish, still no blisters nor cramps! Thanks God for the strength and care.

Alex and I after the run.

The Day When I was Born

August 1, thank you Lord for additional day that You entrust on me. This day should be my birthday run, but I felt the effect of past run. Pain on left thigh and back of right knee, hoping is not ITBS.  I woke up early as 3:30AM to prepare for a run, but my body says, I need a rest. So I off my CP (alarm) and went to sleep.  A night after marathon, I washed all my wet things should be used in the morning: shirts, boxer brief, short and my vff. Then I woke up on my usual time, 5:30AM. Ate my breakfast while watching news. Around 10AM, I went to Bayad center to pay Meralco bill then went to mall, walking around to stretch my painful legs :). At 2PM I went to computer shop and relax, update my blog site, read and post comments. The day was end. Thanks God for the good health, strength, additional year and a new hope. Thanks to all who greeted me! =)

Post-Birthday Run (August 2)

Since I didn’t run on my birthday, I decided to pursue my initial plan, to run from FTI Taguig going to Imus, Cavite today. I woke up 5:30AM, packed my things: 8 pieces bananas, 1 bottle of water a digital camera, paper & pen. A rainy and cold weather, I started running at 6:20AM and finished at 12:54PM. From FTI to Alabang it took 1hr and 30 minutes. And it took almost an hour before I found the way going to Daang-hari. At 10:38AM, I arrived at intersection going to Emilio Aguinaldo Highway. Along the way, I experienced blurring of sight and yellowish urine (a sign of dehydration?). Honestly, along the route its hard to find store to buy water or sports drink.

At Katarungan Village
Welcome To Bacoor
SM Molino

A big smile from my face while exiting to Emilio Aguinaldo Highway, from there I ran until I reached Imus, Cavite. Due to boredom and pain, I end up there covering 35+ kilometers.

The gift I received from my run, no chaffing on both legs unlike after running on Milo (how does it happen, secret? hehe) and still no blister. And of course, MUSCLE PAIN! =)

Will I do this again next year?

5 responses

  1. Reader

    Nice celebration. . .Keep on posting and sharing!

    August 5, 2011 at 12:27 PM

    • Thanks. . I will =) . . I know I need more improvement. . Thanks for reading =)

      August 5, 2011 at 12:34 PM

  2. maricris binaohan

    ang galing mo.. i love it,

    August 8, 2011 at 6:57 AM

  3. ogini

    keep up the race son…I am very proud of you

    September 8, 2011 at 5:20 PM

  4. Thanks po sa support. . Ingat po kayo dyan!

    September 9, 2011 at 1:15 AM

Leave a comment